30 Days Yoga Challenge – Update 1

So I had my very first Yoga class.

LOOK AT ME BEFORE CLASS :))))

11016623_10153102131001030_1335131120_n

I never knew what I liked doing for exercising, my whole life I was terrible at sports, I was always the last one to be picked, I never thought that exercising or all I knew is that I had to do something besides seating all day long.

I decided to try some online exercising classes, I have some gym exercise videos on my smart TV and that’s when I came across Yoga, I clicked on the video and did the 20 minute workout and I absolutely loved it, I thought “I think I finally found something that I actually enjoy doing”, and that’s because it was exciting, I was able to challenge my body to try something new but on my own pace, without any stress.

I got so into it that I got my own yoga matt, and started training almost every day from home, but to be honest, after while I did not have that same drive, I would get lazy by the end of the day, plus I had already seen all yoga for beginners videos, I wanted to be part of a group, and interact with people who shared the same interests. And so I signed up for a 30 day yoga challenge at Enso Yoga in Montreal (ensoyoga.com), also I wanted to take my yoga skills to a different level.

Well, I had my first one hour Hot Flow Yoga class yesterday and I can tell you, it was NOT easy, but very worth it.

I admit that I was very scared, when I arrived to the studio, the class before me was just leaving, and everyone looked as if they had just ran a 20km marathon, and that’s exactly how I looked when I left as well.

The class was very intense, perhaps I felt even more for the fact that it was my very first real yoga class ever, in the heat, for one full hour. The instructor was very helpful and understanding, always stating that we could move in our own pace. All I can say is that, besides feeling sore everywhere, I feel great, I have more energy, I feel like I’m doing something productive and positive to my body and the results are immediate.

As per my own experience so far, I’d like to advise all yoga starters to:

–          Take your time, every body works differently, respect your limits.

–          Always remember how good it feels during and after practice, this will be an incentive to keep going.

–          Always, ALWAYS bring a change of clothes, especially to Hot Yoga, unless you like to walk around in sweat and a not very pleasant scent.

Well, this was my first day of my 30 day yoga challenge experience ideas and thoughts.

“Our ensō hot flow is a Vinyasa-style class created to heal, detoxify and exhilarate the body and mind by linking the breath with movement. ensō hot flow incorporates creative flow sequences with a strong emphasis on the foundation postures which are designed to help build breath awareness, balance, flexibility and overall strength and endurance in the body’s core.”

–   Enso Yoga Studio

Leave a comment